Wilbur on the Macintosh

Wilbur. as seen on my Macintosh. Note the Apple in the upper left corner.

Wilbur. as seen on my Macintosh.
Note the Apple in the upper left corner.

While the title sounds like a good name for a fictional English(-ish) village(the Macintosh River seems a bit un-English-y), I’m actually talking about getting Joe Slayton’s Wilbur program running on my Mac OS X-based computer.

I’ve been using Boot Camp to boot my computer in Windows XP, which seems to work fine, but I’m not that fond of being bound to Windows till I can reboot. I’m aware of Parallels and similar programs which allow Windows to run in a virtual machine parallel to the Mac OS, but they cost money. If I had any money, I’d spend it on cartography and simulation apps… er, not to mention clothes for the kids and… food and whatnot… ehhh…

Anyway! Whilst pointlessly bouncing about the internets, I discovered this post on using Wineskin to “port” Orbiter to Macintosh. I’ve had some experience trying to get Wine working so I wasn’t terribly optimistic, but I tried it. After some false starts(X11 doesn’t seem to open right on my computer, but I’ll go over my workaround if you have the same problem) I had Orbiter running on my computer. As far as I can tell, it works fine, though the simulation is realistic enough that, I at least, can’t get a Delta Glider with a ridiculous amount of delta-v into orbit to save my life. I may need to stick to Kerbal Space Program till I get some, um, skillz. But that said, Orbiter is a pretty big and complicated program, and I didn’t have too much trouble gettin’ it going.

Wilbur, on the other hand, is a relatively simple app, so I went with it. I suppose if I can get Wilbur, SagaGIS and Fractal Terrains running in Wine, I can dump Windows and free up about 180 gigabytes of disk space. Sadly ArcGIS, not surprisingly, doesn’t function on Wine.

First prerequisite, of course, is having mac os on your computer. If you have windows and you like it, then you don’t need my help. If you have linux, then the vanilla version of wine should be hunky-dory, but I can’t really help you with that.

Second step is to get a copy of the wilbur installer here. Next, get a copy of Wineskin Winery here and install it.

The first time you open Wineskin Winery you need to install an engine. Simply click the plus sign next to where it says, “New engine(s) available!” Select the highest numbered version shown in the pull-down menu and click the, “Download and install,” button.

Once the new engine is installed, click update under, “Wrapper Version.”

Next click, “Create New Blank Wrapper,” and give it a good name, like, “Wilbur 180.”

My computer runs Mac OS 10.6.8 with pretty extensive modifications, but if you get a pop-up window that says, “The application X11 could not be opened,” don’t worry, just click quit. Everything should be golden. Wait a little bit and another window should pop up that says, “Wrapper Creation Finished.” Go ahead and click, “View Wrapper in Finder,” and double click the appropriately titled icon(Wilbur 180, in my case) to open the wrapper.

Don’t click, “Install Software,” just yet. Click advanced. If you like you can change the version number to an appropriate value. Wilbur is currently on 1.80, as of publishing this post. Also, because we’re using an msi installer, check, “Use Start.exe.”

Go to the Options tab and check, “Option key works as alt,” and “Try to shut down nicely.” Now click on, “Set Screen Options.” Under, “Other Options,” check, “Use Mac Driver,” and “Use Direct 3D Boost.”

Wilbur needs the vcomp100.dll from Visual C++ Redistributable Components to run. I tried using the installer from Microsoft, but that failed. I also tried using the Winetricks tool to load, “vc2010 express,” in, “apps,” and, “vcrun2010,” in, “dlls,” but that failed, too. Lets close the Wineskin.

Instead download a copy of vcomp100.dll from here. Scroll down and click the plus icon next to, “How to install vcomp100.dll,” and scroll down to, “Using the zip file.” Click, “Download vcomp100.zip.”

When vcomp100.dll is downloaded and extracted, navigate to “Applications/Wineskin” in your user directory and left click on the Wilbur 180 icon. Select, “Show Package Contents,” in the resulting pull-down menu. Drilldown through, “drive_c,” and, “windows,” to, “system32.” Drag the copy of vcomp100.dll you just downloaded to the system32 directory, and close the package.

Now doubleclick on the Wilbur 180 Wineskin. Click, “Install Software.” Click, “Choose Setup Executable,” and browse to the location where the, “Wilbur32_setup.msi,” file is located. Sadly, as far as I’m aware, wine can’t run 64-bit apps… Wait a bit, and the Installer window should open. Click, Next.

I manually entered, “C:\Program Files\Wilbur\,” for the folder location(don’t enter the comma). Next. Next. Close.

The Choose Executable window, if it comes up, should show, “\Program Files\Wilbur\Wilbur1.exe.” If so, click OK.

Try a, “Test Run.” If it succeeded, you’re golden.

If not… It took me several tries before I got everything shipshape.

You can either start again from the beginning, or, if you just want to try fixing a parameter that might not have gotten properly set, use Show Package Contents on Wilbur 180, and click Wineskin at the top of the package hierarchy. This will allow you to change any necessary Wineskin parameters or use any of the tools.

In my case, I usually just forgot to check Use Mac Driver in Screen Options.

Once everything checks out, you can open the app just like any mac app by double clicking the appropriate Wineskin icon(Wilbur 180).

I’ve found that most of Wilbur works pretty well in wine. The 3d Preview window fails completely and some other windows, like Map Projection don’t resize properly, but otherwise Wilbur is pretty functional, and in my experience runs a bit faster than in Bootcamp. In fact, Wilbur is stable, if very slow, handling 8192×4096 images, which usually crash it pretty promptly in Bootcamp.

I’ve also successfully ported Fractal Terrains(which had problems with dockable windows, but otherwise seemed pretty good), and SagaGIS(which, so far, works fine), along with a few other programs.

I’m very satisfied with Wineskin, though I may have to keep Bootcamp to run ArcGIS and AutoCAD.

I hope this has helped my more mac loving friends  to add another dimension to their enjoyment of their computers.

Questions and comments, as always, are very welcome!

Thank you for reading,
The Astrographer

This entry was posted in Mapping, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wilbur on the Macintosh

  1. Pingback: Running Wilbur on the Macintosh

Leave a Reply

