Stumped on Sadwillow

I’ve been trying to figure out tectonic plate boundaries for Sadwillow. This has proven remarkably difficult.

Working on a flat projected surface it’s difficult to figure out how the plates are moving around on the surface of a sphere. For one thing it’s almost impossible not to make weird things happen at the poles.

Since the determination of plate boundaries is important to determining the location and morphology of mountain ranges, rift valleys and other geographic and bathymetric features.

I thought it would help to print my map out as gores and make a small globe to draw my plate boundaries on. I’m limited to printing in 8-1/2 x 11, though and I don’t seem to have any 3-1/2 inch balls laying around the house.

So far the best I’ve been able to come up with is this:

Yes, I have the handwriting of an eight-year-old. I’ve given up on trying to write like a grown-up, and dedicated myself to writing so that I can read it.

I rotated the coordinate system with Flaming Pear’s Flexify 2 filter and found that the boundaries made no sense. Aaaaugh!

Since I’d like to get this party going I think I will go with the mountain structures I have and try to work out the bathymetry later.  As a general rule, I like to keep things making sense as I go, because it’s hard to go back and make sense out of arbitrary forms. Ask the people at ME-DEM who are trying to fit an elevation map to an existing collection of rivers and mountains. It’s hard work. But I’d like to get onto the fun parts.

I’m hoping to have a post up about raising up the mountains before work tonight. Failing that, I’ll get it up tomorrow.

By the way. Anyone know where I can find a 3-1/2 inch ball cheap?

Thank you for your attention,

Colin the Great Astrographer

This entry was posted in Planetary Stuff, Projects, Sadwillow Project, Science Fiction, World Building and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

