A Little Grounding

For the next stage in detailing Sadwillow, we’re going to be using the Wilbur heightfield editing program by Joe Slayton. Now this is a Windows program, and I’m a definite Mac person. On the other hand it’s the only free terrain editing program I’ve been able to find and it’s quite good. Also I can run 32-bit Windows XP on my MacBook, so I’m golden.

Before we get started, we should look at some tutorials to get us up to speed. Judging from the headaches I’ve been having, I should look over these, too. First off, we need to know how to create a terrain based on a sea mask. Next we look at using the tesselation tool to raise up mountainous areas. There are some additional details on use of the tesselation tool at the ME-DEM site. Down the line we’ll also be finding rivers, and creating continental shelves, so you might as well check those, too.

Why do I need to go back over this stuff? Here’s some of what I’ve done so far.

I think I’ll only use the river mask derived from this. At this scale, each pixel represents about 19.5 kilometers on the equator. In a post on the defunct Terrain Summit board(I miss that board), either Monks or Redrobes had measured the footprints of IRL mountains in the Alps and Andes. According to their measurements, even large mountains only get up to about 7.5 kilometers across. That means that any mountainousness can only be shown in a schematic sense. With that in mind, I’m considering whether to use the really pretty Hammer projection of  my reference map with iso symbols. At least on the small-scale global map. On larger scale maps, such as I might produce for an atlas product, the DEM-production techniques should prove more useful.

With respect to a later atlas, I’m looking carefully at HandsomeRob’s impressive Sorolpedia for inspiration.

Thank you for your attention.

This entry was posted in Planetary Stuff, Projects, Sadwillow Project, World Building and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Little Grounding

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Astrographer

Leave a Reply

