Atmospheric Circulation for Sadwillow

Well, I finally got my air circulation charts put together. Like the ocean currents, these are very generalized. I pretty much used the guidelines in Geoff Eddy’s Climate Cookbook. For the summer diagram, I am not at all sure what the southeastern ocean region is going to look like. Thus, the question mark.

The red line approximately marks the position of the intertropical convergence zone(ITCZ).  I’m assuming a fairly Earth-like orbital eccentricity and axial tilt. I probably moved the ITCZ too far; especially in the south.  The continent is truly immense, but I drew the ITCZ past 60º. That’s fairly fantastic. It can take a lot of work to get the kind of instinctive feel for this that you would need to draw these in well. I’m not quite there yet…

One minor quibble I have with the Climate Cookbook is its coverage of monsoonal flows. Actually, what he describes as the monsoon does happen in the American southwest. The true monsoon is defined by the fact that the ITCZ is actually pulled away from the equator to a latitude such that it is over the given region. It’s pretty much a given that any continent big enough to cause a strong enough low pressure to pull the ITCZ to high latitudes in their summer will have a strong enough winter high to blow any trade-wind rainclouds back out to sea. The southern lobe of the major continent would definitely produce a monsoon effect, and the northern lobes might. I doubt if the northeastern continent could manage to produce monsoons, but I haven’t actually measured areas on this yet.

The first map shows air pressure zones and surface winds in the Northern Hemisphere Winter(winter).

The next map depicts air pressure and surface winds during Northern Hemisphere Summer(summer).

A warning for the more novice among my readers. When it is winter in the Northern Hemisphere it is summer in the Southern Hemisphere; when it is summer in the Northern Hemisphere it is winter in the Southern Hemisphere. Also, the coriolis force turns wind to the right when north of the equator and left when south of the equator.

Note that in the future I shall refer to the Northern Hemisphere as NH, and the Southern Hemisphere as SH. Those words are just way too long to have to type as often as I foresee myself having to type them.

This entry was posted in Planetary Stuff, Projects, Sadwillow Project, Science Fiction, World Building and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

