Another good set of resources

Daistallia, over on the Zompist board posted a new thread with lots of useful world-building links, here.

In that same thread, I found a link to a world-builders community. They have some more links in a thread here. At first sight, this seems like just the sort of thing I’m looking for. I’ll definitely be joining the group to see how active they might be.

In other news I also found(well… re-found) John Bray’s Planet Designer site. This has a lot of useful formulae(and reminders of useful formulae I need to research).

Obviously I need to research how to figure out atmospheric specific heat capacity based on chemical composition. And ozone layer height and, oh yeah(!), exosphere temperature. Once upon a time, before some rat-bastard stole the book from the library, I had access to a formula for determining the mean residence time for various atmospheric components based on their molecular weight and the planet’s exosphere temperature. I could have sworn I wrote that down somewhere, but I sure can’t find it. If anyone knows that formula or where it can be found, please drop me a line. Thanks.

This entry was posted in Planetary Stuff, Projects, Science Fiction, World Building and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

