UNSEA

A rather blatantly Star Trek inspired ship. Presumably from the early- or mid-22nd century. I got the broad shape I wanted, but I'm not too happy with the details. I like the lettering, though. All it needs now is a UNSEA meatball. And a better spaceship...

A rather blatantly Star Trek inspired ship. Presumably from the early- or mid-22nd century. I got the broad shape I wanted, but I’m not too happy with the details. I like the lettering, though. All it needs now is a UNSEA meatball. And a better spaceship…

This is a post introducing the new world where I am setting my science fiction work at present. I’ve named it for a major organization in-world, the United Nations Space Exploration Authority.

I like the idea of a point of departure a little closer to the present than is usual for starfaring science fiction, so I’m going to assume that a sublight version of the warp drive is introduced sometime in the 2020s. Maybe the White-Juday interferometer experiment will prove surprisingly successful leading rapidly to breakthroughs. By the mid-2020s small warp drives are commonly used to cheaply shift mass into Earth orbit via Jerry Oltion’s tangent vector translation maneuver(TVTM or TVT maneuver) I mentioned in an earlier post.

A slightly different view...

A slightly different view… I’m not happy with the nose bit.

The warp drive is another variation on the Alcubierre warp drive I’ve been using in my earlier Solar Union milieu although it’s slightly different in the FTL. I’m still working on the details which I’ll put up in a near future post.

This world is in some ways a reboot of my Solar Union timeline, although with significant alterations. It is clearly inspired by Star Trek, Galaxy Quest(the similarity between the names of the UNSEA and the NSEA was not accidental), as well as the TRNT-verse timeline by Oscar Zoalaster. I also owe a whole lot to Jerry Oltion’s Getaway Special, which has been a bit of an obsession of mine lately… Stylistically, I want this world to evoke a lot of elements from Hal Clement, Poul Anderson, H. Beam Piper, David Drake, Lois McMaster Bujold, Ursula LeGuin and Bob Forward(a mixed bag). My visual image for this world derives from the Alien series, new Battlestar Galactica(though usually with smaller ships) and Babylon 5 with a whole lot of Space:1999, 2001:A Space Odyssey and a bit of Star Trek. NASA-chic dominates my mental image of the world since I really want to keep this as a minimal compromise between near-future, hard science fiction and cheerful space opera. Winchell Chung’s Atomic Rockets site is another touchstone for this world, particularly the sketchy milieu of Leif Ericson of Strategic Star Command. There may be occasional encounters with unfriendly aliens, pirates or just attempts to keep the peace between human governments, the UNSEA will be largely a peaceable organization.

This is intentionally the kind of wishful-thinking ‘verse that I’ve very much enjoyed of

The lighting is downright screwy, but the forward hull area is starting to look like it might be going somewhere.I still can't figure out why the lighting is SO AWFUL. I have a spot light directly under the model which doesn't seem to help. Any Blender gurus like to make a suggestion?

The lighting is downright screwy, but the forward hull area is starting to look like it might be going somewhere.
I still can’t figure out why the lighting is SO AWFUL. I have a spot light directly under the model which doesn’t seem to help. Any Blender gurus like to make a suggestion?

late. Warp drive will become practical in the very near future(as such things go), and the first superluminal craft will be leaving the solar system not too long after that. To start with, other than the warp drive, I intend to keep the science fiction pretty hard: the only form of artificial gravity is centrifugal, there’s no antigravity, reactionless drives or technobabble force screens(at least for the foreseeable future). I do see things like orbital elevators being put up, at least on major worlds like Earth, and there will be rather a lot of habitable worlds and a few scattered intelligent aliens scattered about.

Still ain't got that cool MLI texture...

Still ain’t got that cool MLI texture…

Many planets that I had originally created for the Solar Union ‘verse will show up here although with histories altered to be consistent with the new ‘verse.

My latest composited with a Glitterato starfield. Lighting is still screwy, the truss could use some work, and I need to NASA-ize it a bit with some crinkly MLI texture around the gooseneck area and some ISS-style windows in the forward can. Other than that I have the entire engine area in the back to detail...

My latest composited with a Glitterato starfield. Lighting is still screwy, the truss could use some work, and I need to NASA-ize it a bit with some crinkly MLI texture around the gooseneck area and some ISS-style windows in the forward can. Other than that I have the entire engine area in the back to detail…

I’ve been trying to build some 3d models depicting some early UNSEA starships. The work so far is very Star Trek-derived and I can’t get anything to render for crap, but it’s getting better. I hope…

This is really the bare-bones of what I’m hoping to do. I intend to start a beta WIP thread in ah.com for my timeline. In some ways this is a repetition of things I’ve done before which just means this is something my mind wants me to work on. Hopefully it will prove fruitful.

Thank you for your attention, please feel free to comment,

The Astrographer.

This entry was posted in History, Projects, Science Fiction, World Building and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to UNSEA

  1. If you’d like, you can commssion me for work on making a spaceship that fit what you’re looking for. You can find some examples of my work at the provided website 🙂

    • Astrographer says:

      Thank you for the offer. Some very nice work on your website. I liked the blocky urban scene in your models section. That’s a kind of architecture I’m hoping to use on at least one world in my fictional universe. Maybe built up of cargo containers… My favorite was the painting of the grazing bird/elk creatures. I’m fond of cuteness.

      At present, I really can’t, in good conscience, spend much money commissioning artwork for what are basically non-revenue hobby projects. Money is tight, and I don’t want to steal food out of my children’s mouths.

      If I managed to get published, or work up a Kickstarter project, for an RPG perhaps, I will keep you in mind as an illustrator.

      Again, thank you for the offer. I hope that you have great success. I’ll be following your page with great interest!

Leave a Reply

